Around the Bowl

Soups of the world – Recipes from around the globe & some creations of my own

Irish Leek and Potato Soup

Leave a comment

IMG_0127

Back in 2008 I went on holidays by myself  and I couldn’t have made a better choice for a solo trip than Dublin; besides being a very pleasant city, people is so friendly that I hardly ever had dinner on my own, I always ended up chatting with someone at the pubs or restaurants.  And locals might have had a contagious spirit, because visitors behaved extremely friendly as well.

One of those evenings I was sharing table with a lovely English couple at a very touristy nonetheless excellent Irish food restaurant (sorry, I did not record the name of this one!) when I had my first Leek and Potato Soup. Happiness! It still amazes me how something so simple can taste so good!

And you probably know the rest of the history if you have been reading any of my previous posts; back at home I made my homework and find myself a nice Leek and Potato Soup recipe to reproduce some of the holidays bliss at home. I served this one with sauté champignon mushrooms, traditionally you would serve it with bread and butter. Shall we share it?

Servings: 4

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 10 minutes in the pressure cooker* or 30 minutes for regular cooking

Ingredients

For the soup:

  • 1 l chicken stock (use vegetable stock for a vegetarian option)
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 4 leeks stalks, sliced
  • 2 medium potatoes, roughly diced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Parsley to taste (I used dried because I did not have any fresh left)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup skimmed milk

For the sauté champignon mushrooms:

  • a dash of olive oil
  • 1 cup champignon mushrooms, sliced
  • Salt and fresh-ground black pepper to taste.

Preparation

While cutting the vegetables, bring the stock to a boil  in a large pot (the pressure cooker* pot in my case). Turn the heat to medium and add the celery, leek, potatoes, bay leaves and parsley. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_0123

Cover and cook for 10 minutes once full pressure was reached if using the pressure cooker* or simmer for around 30 minutes until the potatoes are soft.

In the meantime, heat the oil in small frying pan, add the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper and lightly brown.

IMG_0126

Once the soup veggies are fully cooked, remove the bay leaves, add the milk and proceed to purée the mix using an immersion blender until smooth.

*Always follow your pressure cooker instructions and manage it with due care.

Serve the soup, add some mushroom slices at the top and enjoy!

IMG_0128

Leave a Reply

