Around the Bowl

Soups of the world – Recipes from around the globe & some creations of my own

Chicken, Leek and Mushroom Soup

Leave a comment

Chicken, Leek and Mushroom Soup

I give it quite some thought to what soup recipe should I post first , should it be a traditional recipe, one discovered somewhere during a trip or should I risk a little with some creation of my own?

Some soups are already a “classic” in our every week menu; in fact I cook them often enough not to need a recipe any longer and to add some variations depending on the ingredients on my fridge, pantry and the inspiration of the day. So, I could go with any of these, but since just the idea of starting this blog turn on my creativity, I finally decided to start with a recipe I created the same day I started to shape “Around the bowl”

On one hand, chicken and leek are always a great combination in any dish and on the other hand, chicken and mushrooms are definitely two matching flavours, therefore by transitive property, so should be chicken+leek+mushrooms. I dare say without any doubt that it was!

Servings: 4

Preparation and cooking  time: around 30 min (preparation and cooking time overlap, I start cooking some ingredients while preparing the following)

Ingredients

  • 1 good dash olive oil
  • 1 leek, sliced
  • 3 handfuls of mixed mushrooms (I used frozen. I always keep a bag, they are such a resource!)
  • 1/2 glass white cooking wine (I used Chardonnay).
  • 1 breast of roast chicken, shredded (I used leftovers from lunch)
  • Chicken stock, 1 liter (Unless I have  home-made stock, I generally use good-quality bought stock, I avoid stock cubes since they are packed with sodium and animal grease)
  • Marine salt and fresh-ground pepper to taste
  • Finally chopped fresh parsley

Preparation

Heat the oil in a cooking pot. Add the sliced leek, reduce the heat to medium-low  and stir-fry until translucent.

Stir in the mushrooms, pour the white wine and turn up the heat to let some of the alcohol to evaporate for about 3 minutes.

Add the shredded chicken, pour the stock and season with salt and pepper. Cover and simmer over low heat during 10 minutes.

Serve and garnish with parsley.

I hope you are tempted enough to cook it and enjoy it with your love ones!

Looking forward to your comments!

Leave a Reply

